Joan Didion

I don’t have much I particularly want to say this week, so I’ll just pop out with Joan Didion.

My first experience with Joan Didion was in high school AP English. An excerpt of hers was in one of those giant volumes students always have. I don’t remember where the excerpt came from exactly any more, but I remember that this one line just resonated deeply with me. It was this line below:

I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.” 

I wrote much more often back then, a daily entry or two was to be expected, and I wrote precisely for the same reason “to find out what I’m thinking” and to “see . . . what it means.” It was just this awesome moment of connection and it made my day. So in an awestruck instant, Joan Didion became an author I love because of only one line, haha.

As an ending thought, does the fact that I write less now mean I’m not thinking as much anymore? Hmm.

Leave a Reply

